Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 14th, 2009

Just… not feeling it.

So I got some more responses to Spawn’s party invitations yesterday, and that pushed the response rate up past 50%. I’m just going to assume that the non-responders are coming anyway and if they don’t then more cake for me.

I just don’t have the energy to rant about it today. In fact, I’m feeling sweet, sweet relief that at least there will be someone in attendance at the party. Having a kid in January was probably not the best plan, because weather tends to wreak havoc during this time of the year. That fact, coupled with my own admitted neurosis about no one showing up at a party I’m giving, plus the fact that it’s three weeks after Christmas… the whole thing just drains me.

Why no, I’m not much of a social butterfly. I’m not even sure I’m a social caterpillar.  Why do you ask?

I feel pretty confident that Spawn will be pleased with the gifts, though. The only two things the kid has really asked for are Bendaroos and a Pokemon book, and though I think both things are some of the dumbest things I’ve ever seen, I am not on the cusp of being eight years old. Obviously I’m not in a position to judge.

My lack of high anxiety over this party could mean that after eight years, I’m finally starting to get the hang of this mom thing. 

 

— Mox

Read Full Post »