Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 10th, 2010

This has got to stop.

Day Two and the kids could have gone to school today.  Guess who is elected to stay home on a day such as today?  The person with the lesser job, that’s who. 

Oh the joys of being home on a snow day. 

I will be the first to admit that I am not a cook.  I think cooking is highly overrated, at least on a personal level.  I love to watch cooking shows.  I love to eat.  I love for someone else to cook it.  And clean it up, for that matter.  But me, as a cook?  Nah. 

So on a snow day, when I’m pretty limited as to what I can do to keep myself from losing my everloving mind, I sometimes venture into the kitchen.  I’m always surprised to find that my hand-me-down 25-year-old stove works.  Oh, the things that come out of the kitchen when I actually have time to slow-cook!  Meatloaf, pot roast, homemade soup, from-scratch sweetbreads and cupcakes.  My husband, unaccustomed to such things as a ready dinner when he comes home in the evening, often wonders if he’s living a Twilight Zone episode. 

Seriously, y’all, I am going to weigh 500 pounds before spring gets here. 

I have not heard if school will be in session tomorrow, but my waistline is seriously hoping it will. 

— Mox

Read Full Post »