Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 8th, 2010

The days are growing closer for Spawn’s school’s used book sale. 

I am beside myself with anticipation. 

If there is one thing I love, it’s books.  Lots of books.  If there is one thing I love more than books, lots of books, it’s lots of books for cheap.  And the used book sale fills the bill very nicely. 

Prior to the sale, however, there is a lot of legwork to be done.  The stocking of the used book sale comes from the kids and their parents collecting books and bringing them to the school gym.  There are three weeks’ worth of this collecting.  Then a cadre of dedicated volunteers, mostly moms, hunkers down in the locker rooms underneath the gym bleachers and separates the givings into various departments.  This process takes three weeks and runs concurrently with the collections period.  On the final week of the three weeks, volunteer dads put protective tarps down on the gym floor and wrestle tables in to hold the stacks.  Then everybody brings the boxes of sorted books up from the locker rooms and loads the tables up. 

There is a lot of lifting involved. 

In previous years I have only been able to volunteer one day of my life each year to this noble cause, and it was one day spent pretty much entirely on my feet, putting books out on tables.  If you think that table is full, you are mistaken.  You can always squeeze about two dozen more books onto that surface, it does not matter that the spines of the books are hanging over the edge. 

And even better, when you are a volunteer before the actual sale, you get first dibs on the books.  Grab a box and start putting your treasures in it.  At 50¢ to $1 per book, you’re not going to break the bank.  And in general there are over 40,000 books to choose from. 

Heaven. on. earth. 

I signed up for four days this year.  I expect to be dirty, sweaty, sore-footed, and extremely tired, but in a very happy way.  The same way I feel after going to the gym, but way better than the gym.  I may not lose any weight but I will gain some books. 

— Mox

Read Full Post »