Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 4th, 2010

I have the answer.

Over the past few years, perhaps to my detriment, I have developed an aversion to uncomfortable clothing. 

This means that I have eschewed belts, high heels, and suits.  I embrace anything with spandex in the fabric.  I love dresses with no waist.  Long, tunic-style knit tops.  Boot cut pants.  Kick-ass boots.  Funky jewelry. 

I love the fact that I don’t have to dress like a college graduate looking for that first job.  Back in those days I clung to a certain fashion groove because it helped me to fake it, looking like I knew what the hell I was doing.  In the 20 years I’ve been out of college, I have acquired a certain amount of knowing what the hell I’m doing.  I’ve gotten more comfortable in my skin, and more relaxed in my clothing choices. 

Consequently I have gained 17 pounds in the past two years.  Hmm.  Still, I refuse to wear pants that cut me in two.  Waistbands should not hurt. 

Just last month I bought a few new things to rotate into my closet, since I can no longer wear my fully-lined wool pants.  Hey, it was either that or go naked.  Trust me, I made the right choice.  Since I am always on the hunt for a great pair of khakis, I tried on a pair of khaki-colored jeans (with spandex and boot cut, amen) in the Next Size Up from what I usually wear.  And the Next Size Up?  Was too tight on my thighs.  Ordinarily I do not have a problem with pants being too tight on my thighs, with the notable exception of just about anything khaki in color.  Weird, but true.  So I went up One More Size from that.  Which fit my suddenly ponderous thighs and therefore I bought them. 

Only now they’re too big in the waist.  Especially since I am now working on the weight machines at the gym to try and tone my “core”. 

The Secret To Feeling Thin is this:  larger sizes.  No one knows what the number on the tag is except me. 

I feel positively lithe in these pants.  And with my kick-ass boots I feel pretty tall, too. 

And that, my friends, is my wisdom for the day. 

— Mox

Read Full Post »