Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 12th, 2008

OK, so last night I went to my “Awesome Abs” class while Spawn was in tumbling class, and I am here to tell you, I have learned some things about myself. 

One is that I am woefully, pitifully, painfully uncoordinated. 

Another is that I am more out of shape than I thought. 

I fully expected to “feel the burn” in my abs last night while being coached through a series of kickboxing moves and crunching reps.  Didn’t happen.  Thought I’d be a human question mark this morning after the ache set in.  Didn’t happen. 

What did happen was that both of my arches on the bottoms of my feet seized up in cramps.  And the muscles at the tops of my thighs quivered and shook.  And my ass hurts. 

Everything but the abs.  So either my abs are actually in pretty good shape (underneath that layer of flab) or my aforementioned uncoordination helped me to work out a completely different set of muscles. 

And STILL I got up this morning and went to the gym and walked two miles.  Because I am a glutton for punishment. 

And in a weird perverse way, I am actually enjoying my post-workout ache today.  Feels like I actually did something.  That might be that fabled endorphin rush talking, but whatever. 

I may be over the threshold of 40 and two steps into the room, but I’m going down swinging. 

 

 

— Mox

Read Full Post »